Culottes

Recently I was at talking to a friend about the joy of culottes – getting to look smart while actually wearing shorts. Anyway it seems that we were just ahead of the curve because they’re everywhere in London right now. Using Metric Pattern Cutting by Winifred Aldrich I drafted a pattern and this is what I made:

image

I made them about a month ago and I’ve been wearing them loads,  particularly to the park. I get to sit crosslegged while wearing a ‘skirt’ and not flashing – win!

image

The fabric is a polycotton from Dalston Mill Fabrics. They could do with an iron in this photo!

image

I made the pattern by cancelling out the darts at the waist and I think next time I’ll go for a full circle skirt.

Leave a Reply

